Thursday, August 6, 2009

Mom's version of the birth

We called the hospital at 7am on Monday morning (August 3) to see if they had a bed and a nurse for us. Lucky for us, they did! My sisters had spent the night since Ben was staying with them while we were at the hospital, so we were able to dash off right away. We got to the hospital at about 7:45 and got checked in and into our room. After I was changed and hooked up to a baby heart monitor and contraction monitor, my OB came in and broke my water. It made my blood pressure drop and I got really light headed and warm. I had to lay back and have Neil fan me for a few minutes while I waited for it to pass.

I had tested positive for a pregnancy condition that could be passed on to the baby unless I was on penicillin, so they had me hooked up to an IV with that right away. Unfortunately, I didn’t realize I had to have a full dose in my system before they would start my pitocin. If they could have started the pitocin right away, I bet Tristan would have been born before 3! Oh well…

Sometime around 11, they started up my pitocin and my contractions got stronger. At about 12:30 or 1:00ish, I sent for my epidural. I think it hurt a little bit more this time than I remember with Ben. Once they got the epidural needle threaded, they handed me the button (the magic button that gives extra doses of epidural whenever you want it). The anesthesiologist said he likes to push it once to make sure there’s no problems. When he pushed it, the machine started beeping and saying something about “high pressure.” He messed around with it for a little while, and I guess to get the flow going, he shot 2 extra needlefuls into my epidural tube. With Ben, I didn’t feel any pain, but I could tell when I was having contractions and I could move my legs. This time, the epidural was much stronger and my legs were total dead weights. I didn’t like it, but by the time I was going to ask if they would back it off just a little, it was too close to birth and I didn’t want to mess anything up.

At about 3:30 or 4, the nurse checked me and said I was a “4+” which was disappointing. She also said she was going home because there wasn’t enough patients. When the new nurse came in, she said she was off at 7 but she didn’t expect anything to happen before then. She got paged away for a minute, and when she came back she offered to check me anyways (this was about 5:00). Neil joked about her helping stretch me out so Tristan could come faster. When she checked me, she said “Girlfriend, you don’t NEED any help, you’re an 8!” She left, saying she’d come back in about ½ hour. At about 5:20, I started feeling like I wanted to push, so I called her back in. She made it sound like I was a 9.5 now, so she went ahead and called the doctor down. When he came down, he said I was really only a 9 and he wasn’t so sure I’d be able to start pushing quite yet. The nurse said we’d just have to prove him wrong. I shoved Tristan right through there on my first set of pushes (1 contraction and 3 pushes) and shoved him out on the next set. That’s right, 2 contractions and 6 pushes later, Tristan joined our family! This time, I asked to have a mirror so I could watch the birth and I think that helped me because I knew how close he was to coming out… J He looked a lot pastier than Ben did and it felt like it took a lot longer for him to start breathing, but eventually he did! Now, I didn’t see this part, but I did see Neil’s horrified face when they sucked about 12 cc’s of fluid out of Tristan’s stomach. Apparently he took a big drink of fluid on his way out.

Besides the cramps I get (mostly when breastfeeding), I’m feeling really good. I don’t really have any trouble moving around. I think part of that is that I’ve done this once before and my body is a little more used to it, but another part of it is that I didn’t have an episiotomy this time. I did have a small tear by my urethra, and the doc said it would probably sting when I pee (it doesn’t). I remember having a hard time walking and sitting with Ben because the episiotomy stitches hurt a bit more. I’m glad that even though I ended up with a small tear, the recovery has been just fine!

Yesterday was our first day home and as I posted, Ben took a lot more interest in Tristan this time (he just asked me where Tristan was, since he’s sleeping upstairs and not sitting down here with us). Last night we did our favorite baby thing – the dreamfeed – and Tristan actually slept from 11-7 before we woke him up to eat. I’m not sure if that will happen again tonight or if that was just a fluke because he’s still such a newborn, but we’ll see… I think it might be partly because he’s a little bit jaundiced, and that makes them kind of lethargic. I’ve had to wake him up for every feeding so far… He’s going to the doc tomorrow morning to check on his levels and see if he needs to be under some UV lights or something to make his jaundice go away.

I’ll try to keep updating his blog as new things happen! Thanks for all your love and support!

Baby Chi-chin

Here's Ben with his new brother!

My Big Brother

Tristan met his big brother when he was only 2 hours old. Unfortunately, Ben wanted NOTHING to do with him. I was interested to see what would happen when we got home and Ben realized this thing was a permanent fixture. He had fallen asleep on the way back from Grandma Hill's, so we put him in bed for his nap. When he got up, I was feeding Tristan and Ben was still not interested. A little later, however, Ben came to sit on the couch with me. Tristan was in his carseat next to the couch, sleeping. I pointed him out to Ben and he immediately wanted to hold him. We passed him back and forth for about 15 minutes. Later, we went to the store to get some milk and a few other supplies for my neices to help us make some freezer meals (although this time around, I probably don't need them - I feel great!). When we got back, Ben kept getting down on his knees to see "Baby Chi-chin" as he calls him.



I LOVE MY BABY BROTHER!!!

Tuesday, August 4, 2009

Ben v. Tristan

Well I have had a few people ask if Ben and Tristan look alike. I would have to say NO.
Benjamin Neil Baxter born May 21, 2007 - 8 lb 13 oz, 20 inches long


Tristan Bentley Baxter born August 3, 2009 - 8 lbs 4.5 oz, 20.5 inches long.

Tristan was only a little lighter than Ben, and he ended up being longer. I think Ben had a longer face than Tristan does, but they both seem like very chill boys. Tristan hasn't cried much! :)

Monday, August 3, 2009

Hello!

(naked photo removed - silly dad!)



*Trumpet Fanfare*

He's here! At 5:53 on August 3rd, Tristan Bentley Baxter made his triumphant entry into this world. Weighing in at 8 pounds 5 ounces and 20.5 inches long, he's continuing our family's tradition of pretty good-sized babies. Thank you for your outpouring of love and support for this little guy! If you would like to come visit, we will be at the hospital all day tomorrow, so come any time, just be sure to call first: 801-931-7399.

Update!

The doctor just walked in, the stirrups are up, and I think we're about ready to push. Here we go!!!!
Sweet. Nurse says she's an 8. This kid'll be here any moment! Kinda snuck up on us cuz mom's COMPLETELY numb from the waiste down :)

Getting Closer

Status update: Mommy's been on the Pitocin for about 6 hours now. They couldn't start the pitocin at first because they had to get the penicillin going first, which took 3 hours. It took Ben 8 hours on the Pitocin before he came out, so we're hoping Tristan'll be here by 7:00 or so. However, the nurses must think we're getting close because they prepped the room for delivery about an hour ago. It also sounds like we're going to get all the attention we need; they're sending nurses home because there's not enough patients for all of them :). Mommy's in and out of conciousness, (nappy time), but is otherwise generally happy.

Final word: around 4:00 mommy was a "4+", and when we hit 5 things'll really get going. When we hit 5 with Ben, it seems like it only took about half an hour to get him out (might have been an hour...). Let's hope Tristan acts like his brother!

At the hospital

Ahhh... sweet relief. The epidural is in and mommy's sittin' pretty! At their last check mom was up to 3 cm, but we're thinking it'll be about three hours until pushing time.

Just to recap a little bit, we arrived at the hospital around 7:30 this morning. After checking in they immediately hooked mom up with some penicilin to prevent her from passing on strep. Two doses later the Petosin started flowin, and now mom's half-numb. Now we get to wait. Thank goodness for laptops and rifftrax!

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Just a few more days

Well, unfortunately at my appointment, I wasn't any further dilated than last week, so there's basically NO chance I'll spontaneously go into labor before Monday... Oh well.
If all goes as planned (ie they have a room for me Monday morning) Tristan will probably be joining our family late afternoon August 3rd. With Ben I was there at 8, Ben was born at about 4:30ish. We'll let you know when Tristan makes it out! :)

Thursday, July 23, 2009

2 weeks and counting!

Hey everyone,
This will be a blog for Tristan so I can post videos, pictures, and stories as he grows up!
At my doctor's appointment a few weeks back, I talked to the doctor about my options as far as the birth this time around. With Ben, I was 8 days late and they induced me (still didn't seem like I was going into labor any time soon...). I have a different doctor this time, and he said if I'm looking good at 39 weeks, he's willing to induce me. I'm glad to hear this, because with Ben there wasn't ANY physical pain, but this time I have all kinds of aches and pains (which have been getting worse and worse).
At my doctor's appointment yesterday, I was 2 cm dilated and 50% effaced. My doc said that since this isn't my first baby, I'm "probably" okay to induce early. A week early was what he originally said, but (OF COURSE) he's out of town next weekend, when I would be exactly a week early. We did, however, set up an induction on August 3rd. Since this is an elective induction, I won't have a high priority, so there's a chance I might not get right in on that day, but they will definitely have me in sometime that week! Wahoo for me! It's nice knowing that in 2 more weeks, I'll for sure have a new baby!